Autism and Insurance Coverage State Laws

Autism and Insurance Coverage State Laws
A total of 35 states and the District of Columbia have laws related to autism and insurance coverage. At least 23 states—Arizona, Colorado, Connecticut, Florida, Illinois, Indiana, Iowa, Kansas, Kentucky, Louisiana, Maine, Massachusetts, Missouri, Montana, Nevada, New Hampshire, New Jersey, New Mexico, Pennsylvania, South Carolina, Texas, Vermont and Wisconsin—specifically require insurers to provide coverage for the treatment of autism. Other states may require limited coverage for autism under mental health coverage or other laws.
The above link from the National Conference of State Legislatures includes a detailed table of insurance mandates by state. The table is maintained quarterly, so it is relatively up-to-date. You would have to read the complete state laws for specific coverage data.  


Post a Comment

Comments violating the policies of this blog will not be approved for posting. Language and content should be appropriate for all readers and maintain a polite tone. Thank you.

Popular posts from this blog

John Ordover on Parenting and More

Autism Awareness Month

Pandemic Parenting and Hope for Normal